MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OF WITZENBERG MUNICIPALITY, HELD IN THE TOWN HALL, VOORTREKKER STREET, CERES ON TUESDAY, 16 NOVEMBER 2021 AT 10:00

PRESENT

Councillors

Alderman K Adams (Democratic Alliance)

Councillor JJ Cloete (Patriotic Alliance)

Councillor S de Bruin (Democratic Alliance)

Councillor GJ Franse (Democratic Alliance)

Councillor JP Fredericks (Freedom Front Plus)

Councillor AL Gili (African National Congress)

Councillor LA Hardnek (Witzenberg Party)

Councillor P Heradien (Independent Civic Organisation of SA)

Councillor FE Klazen (GOOD)

Councillor GG Laban (Witzenberg Action)

Councillor C Lottering (Democratic Alliance)

Councillor JS Mouton (African National Congress)

Councillor MJ Ndaba (African National Congress)

Councillor N Nogcinisa (African National Congress)

Councillor N Phatsoane (African National Congress)

Councillor K Robyn (GOOD)

Councillor EM Sidego (Democratic Alliance)

Alderman HJ Smit (Democratic Alliance)

Councillor D Swart (Democratic Alliance)

Alderman JJ Visagie (Democratic Alliance)

Councillor K Yisa (African National Congress)

Councillor J Zalie (African National Congress)

Officials

Mr D Nasson (Municipal Manager)

Mr HJ Kritzinger (Director: Finance)

Mr M Mpeluza (Director: Corporate Services)

Mr JH Swanepoel (Manager: Projects and Performance)

Mr A Raubenheimer (Deputy Director: Finance)

Mr A Hofmeester (Manager: IDP)

Ms L Nieuwenhuis (Manager: Legal Services)

Ms R Hendricks (Manager: Communication and Marketing)

Mr CG Wessels (Manager: Administration)

Ms M Arendse-Smith (Chief Administrative Officer)

Mr C Titus (Committee Clerk)

Mr R Rhode (ICT Administrator)

Mr J Pieterse (Senior ICT Officer)

Ms MJ Prins (Word Processor Operator)

Notule: Spesiale Raadsvergadering Minutes: Special Council meeting 16 November 2021

Other attendees

Mr M Baatjes (Department of Local Government)

Mr G September (Independent Electoral Commission)

Mr Röscher G (Independent Electoral Commission)

Ms L Louw (Independent Electoral Commission)

Ms S Steinberg (Independent Electoral Commission)

Mr I Xolisa (Independent Electoral Commission)

1. OPENING AND WELCOMING (3/1/2)

The Municipal Manager, Mr D Nasson, welcomed everyone present and acted as Chairperson of the meeting.

NOTED.

2. MOTIONS, NOTICES AND PROPOSALS

2.1 Motion: Postponement of meeting (3/1/2/3)

An urgent notice of motion has been submitted by the majority of Councillors in terms of Section 34 of the Western Cape Provincial Gazette: By-Laws on the Rules of Order for the meetings of the Witzenberg Council and Committees to the Chairperson, requesting a postponement of the meeting. The motion is attached as **annexure 2.1**.

Councillor G Laban requested that clarity be given with regard to the content and procedures relating to such notice.

The Chairperson read aloud the notice and stipulated the following outcomes:

12 Votes in favour of the proposal

Alderman J Visagie seconded the acceptance of the urgent notice of motion.

RESOLVED

that the motion to postpone the Special Council meeting be accepted.

Notule: Spesiale Raadsvergadering Minutes: Special Council meeting 16 November 2021

| 3. | ADJOURNMENT | |
|-------|---------------------------------|----------------------------|
| | The meeting adjourned at 10:25. | |
| Appro | oved on | with / without amendments. |
| | ASSON IRPERSON | |

3

M Prins